We’d like to thank everyone who entered this year. As always we received an amazing range of outstanding entries and shortlisting was a very difficult job for our judges.

You can take a look at the winners guide here and photos from the day here we hope that you join with us in congratulating the winners and finalists.

The overall winner in 2019 is Joe McQuillan, Head Orthoptist, Royal London Hospital, Barts Health NHS Trust

Joe is an orthoptist who has moved from a clinical role to a senior management role. Having a practising, highly respected clinician as a senior manager has meant the service has gone from strength to strength in recent years and this is down to Joe’s commitment and drive for the service and the team. He consistently receives the most compliments in the department. His interaction with patients inspires others who have amended their clinical methods to ensure the quality of care constantly improves.
His work has led to many positive changes within the department – telephone clinics, orbital trauma pathways, learning difficulties clinics and virtual retinal clinics all of which have had a significantly positive impact on the quality of patient care.



You can take a look here at the 2018 winners here

New sponsors for 2019 – this year we were delighted that the Institute of Biomedical Science  sponsored the Biomedical Scientist of the Year award and we also had two new awards, the AHP Clinical Leadership Award sponsored by Allied Health Solutions and the AHCS Award for inspiring the healthcare science workforce of the future. Also we welcomed the support of the College of Podiatry with their Rising Star award.

If you would like to be involved for 2020 as a sponsor, supporter, judge or entrant contact 

 Sign up to our mailing list and receive updates by clicking here